Blog post detail Blog post detail

Meet Lex Albrecht, IRIS Ambassador

IRIS is proud to partner with amazing ambassadors, one of them is Lex Albrecht, professional cyclist. We decided to ask Lex a few questions so that you can get to know her a bit better ! 

When did you start wearing glasses?

From a very young age I knew I would have to wear glasses at some point. My mom would always bring me to the optometrist once a year & as an adult, I kept visiting my optometrist. My left eye has always been a little more on the lazy side, when I started high school, I had to start wearing glasses, especially when it comes to reading.

What is your go to style when it comes to eyewear?

The great thing about glasses is that there are so many options available, therefore I can always change my look to match how I am feeling. I really like the trendy transparent frames but I also love when a frame design is made of multiple materials like plastic and metal for example. I like to have at least 2 pairs handy so that I can change looks when I want to.

What are your hobbies?

Of course, I cycle a lot ! It’s my job, but it’s also my passion. I even cycle on my days off, simply for the pleasure of it. I love to be outdoors, explore the city and discover new coffee shops on my bike ! I also like to ride my motocycle, cross country skiing, read the latest news and play board games.

What’s your go to health tip?

Physical activity is very important, it brings both physical but also psychological benefits. It helps us feel good, and or course, it's also good for our health! You do not need to spend hours exercising, it's just important to be minimally active every day. It can be as simple as walking alone or with friends, swimming, running errands by bike, running 15 minutes before going to work, going to the gym, attending a dance class or boxing... whatever floats your boat! You can self motivated by rewarding yourself every time you are being active.

What did you want to be when you grow up?

When I was a kid I did not know what I wanted to do and the thought of not knowing was actually quite stressful. I have always enjoyed playing outside & well, especially cycling. I chose to do my studies in medical biology and worked in a research laboratory for few years before starting my career as a professional cyclist.

What is the one thing you can’t leave the house without?

I never leave my house without my credit card…and of course, sunglasses, even when the weather is cloudy. Oh also, my keys, very important !

What is your favourite meal?

My favorite meal is definitely breakfast! I always have oatmeal with a banana and an egg. When I want to spoil myself, I turn the recipe into pancakes. It's always accompanied by a good coffee, preferably an espresso!

Do you have a hidden talent?

I'm pretty handy with tools. It's convenient to be able to work on my own bike, on tasks at home, and even on my car. I feel a bit invincible! My dream would be to one day have several big red boxes of tools...

Where would you like to travel next?

I am fortunate because my work as a cyclist allows me to travel extensively all over the world (North and South America, Europe, Asia, and even Africa this summer). I would like to explore the Far North in my homeland in Quebec & also I would like to go back to the Alps and ride my motocycle.

What is your favourite colour?

Without hesitation: RED! It represents dynamism, strength, energy, speed ... pleasure!

Why are you proud to be an IRIS ambassador?

I am very proud to be an IRIS Ambassador. It’s a Canadian company, in which we really feel like we are part of a family…this truly is exceptional. IRIS is also a company with a beautiful culture and a very positive presence in their community (Tour CIBC Charles-Bruneau, IRIS Challenge, IRIS Mundial ...). I sincerely feel that we share the same values. 

Share by email



Web Content Display Web Content Display